Insectoids!

I love the shapes that make up the parts of bicycles and I can’t help but see creatures and strange devices in them just waiting to be given life. I’ve been working on bikes for years, and I spent the last 3 summers working at Recyclistas Community Bike Shop in Victoria B.C., so I’ve had great access to heaps of broken and leftover parts with which to play and create.

Below is a selection of insectoids I’ve recently built, all are assembled using cast-off parts headed for the recycle bin and there is no welding in their assembly, only nuts and bolts.

I do not have these particular items anymore as they were all stolen when I moved but I make new creations semi regularly and as custom orders (they range in price from $40-$80 depending on complexity and size) so if you are interested contact me at nmelchin at gmail dot com

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One thought on “Insectoids!

Leave a comment